Show Notes for Thursday, September 11, 2014

• Democratic strategist Karl Frisch calls in at 9am ET / 6am PT to talk about the president’s ISIS speech last night

Tomasky• Michael Tomasky, columnist for The Daily Beast, calls in at 10:30am ET / 7:30am PT to talk about the president’s speech on ISIS

• Health care reform expert Jacki Schechner joins us in the Los Angeles Bureau at 11am ET / 8am PT for Jacki’s Healthcare Corner

• President Obama on Wednesday announced a comprehensive strategy to “degrade and ultimately destroy” the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria (ISIS, or ISIL) that will broaden the U.S. military role to include airstrikes in Syria but not put any American combat troops on the ground in the region.

• Rep. Nancy Pelosi praised Obama’s “concrete and forceful strategy” against IS and highlighted his pledges to act “with a broad coalition of partners and without using U.S. combat forces on the ground.” Rep. John Boehner crowed that Obama had “recanted his earlier dismissals” of the threat posed by ISIS.

• Former FBI director Robert S. Mueller III will conduct a probe into how the NFL handled evidence as it investigated domestic violence claims against former Ravens running back Ray Rice. A law enforcement official said that he sent a tape of Rice striking his then-fiancee at a casino to an NFL executive in April.