ON THE SHOW TODAY

Show Notes for Thursday, April 24, 2014

Karl Frisch of Bullfight Strategies calls in at 9am ET / 6am PT to talk about GOP shenanigans in DC

• Sexy Liberal John Fugelsang calls in at 10:30am ET / 7:30am PT to talk about his appearance on MSNBC’s Hardball last night

Schechner• Health care reform expert Jacki Schechner calls in at 11am ET / 8am PT for “Jacki’s Healthcare Corner”

• Bob Cesca of The Daily Banter calls in at 11:30am ET / 8:30am PT to talk about the dangers of Justice Antonin Scalia

• Georgia Gov. Nathan Deal signed into law a wide-ranging bill allowing licensed gun owners to take concealed weapons to more places than ever before, like churches and bars. The new law, however, limits what police can do.

• President Obama warned that the U.S. has prepared a fresh round of sanctions against Russia as a consequence for Moscow’s refusal to condemn destabilizing violence in eastern Ukraine. But, he said, there is still time for Russian President Vladimir Putin to change course.

• An Afghan police officer on duty as a guard at a Kabul hospital opened fire Thursday morning on a long-serving American doctor at the facility, killing him and two other U.S. nationals in the attack.

STEPHS BLOG

Retired FBI agent on the pressure cooker and the victories of law enforcement

Stephanie Miller gets an inside look into the process of terror investigations from retired FBI agent Chris Kerr. He tells Stephanie that he’s surprised this kind of attack didn’t happen sooner after 9/11 and that it shows the “victories of various law enforcement agencies.” Stephanie asks if the pressure cooker implies anything. Kerr responds that it’s tempting to say it’s “a lone wolf or an unsophisticated group of people,” but a sophisticated group could have used this device to “throw investigators off the trail.”

http://current.com/shows/talking-liberally/videos/retired-fbi-agent-on-whats-next-for-boston/

GUEST BLOG

George Zimmerman, OJ Simpson, Obama’s Racial Optimism, and Bush Obama America – David J Dent

David J Dent

There is a short letter to the editor in the Orlando Sentinel in which a Florida resident was devastated and shocked by the verdict. She wrote: “…the jurors were offered two paths to follow in coming to their decision regarding …guilt or innocence…the well-traveled path of racism and vengeance. It is a clear path, because many people, both black and white, have traveled it before….,  the more difficult path leading to justice and equality for all… hasn’t been traveled often, and it is precarious and exhausting to follow. Perhaps the jurors were just too tired to choose that path…I had hoped that these jurors, with all the world watching, would courageously make the tougher choice. I am so disappointed. Yet, something inside me says, Maybe next time.”

The letter writer was not referring to the Zimmerman case. The letter appeared in the newspaper on October 6, 1995, a couple of days after a predominantly black jury found OJ Simpson not guilty. Over the past week, I could not escape thoughts of the OJ Simpson trial when thinking of Zimmerman. There is a chilling dissimilarity in looking at the media coverage of the responses to both ... Continue Reading

http://bushobamaamerica.com