Show Notes for Tuesday, December 3, 2013

• CHARLIE PIERCE OF ESQUIRE’S POLITICS BLOG CALLS IN AT 10:30AM ET / 7:30AM PT TO TALK ABOUT PEOPLE WHINING OVER THE “END” OF THE OBAMA PRESIDENCY

Bowersox• AMERICAN IDOL FINALIST CRYSTAL BOWERSOX CALLS IN AT 11:30AM ET / 8:30AM PT TO TALK ABOUT HER NEW SONG, “COMING OUT FOR CHRISTMAS”

• THE HEALTH CARE WEBSITE FACED ITS FIRST BIG TEST MONDAY SINCE THE OBAMA ADMINISTRATION SAID IT MET ITS DEADLINE TO MAKE HEALTHCARE.GOV WORK SMOOTHLY. 375,000 PEOPLE TRIED TO SHOP ON HEALTHCARE.GOV BEFORE NOON MONDAY. OFFICIALS CALLED THAT A STRONG SIGN OF INTEREST, BUT THAT HIGH NUMBER CREATED SOME PROBLEMS.

• A COMMUTER TRAIN THAT DERAILED IN NEW YORK OVER THE WEEKEND, KILLING FOUR PASSENGERS, WAS HURTLING AT 82 MPH AS IT ENTERED A 30 MPH CURVE, A FEDERAL INVESTIGATOR SAID MONDAY. BUT WHETHER THE WRECK WAS THE RESULT OF HUMAN ERROR OR BRAKE TROUBLE WAS STILL UNCLEAR, HE SAID.

• PRESIDENT OBAMA LAUDED “EXTRAORDINARY” PROGRESS TOWARDS ENDING HIV/AIDS MONDAY AND PROMISED FURTHER U.S. INVESTMENT TO FIND A CURE. OBAMA ANNOUNCED THAT $100 MILLION IN FUNDING WILL BE REDIRECTED TO A NATIONAL INSTITUTES OF HEALTH PROGRAM TO SEEK A CURE FOR AIDS.

• A CONNECTICUT PROSECUTOR SAID MONDAY HE WILL NOT APPEAL A JUDGE’S ORDER TO RELEASE 911 RECORDINGS FROM LAST YEAR’S MASSACRE AT SANDY HOOK ELEMENTARY SCHOOL. THE TAPES WILL BE RELEASED TOMORROW.

One Response to Show Notes for Tuesday, December 3, 2013